Home / Categories

If the jury deems it necessary, projects may be evaluated in categories other than those indicated on the registration form. The jury reserves the right to modify or regroup certain categories.

Please indicate while registering online. You can choose one of the special awards category 12.1 to 12.6
for $40 if you have already submitted in at least one of these
categories 1.1 to 11.3 and 13.1.

  • 1- Residential

    This category includes residential interior spaces such as houses, condominiums, lofts or apartments. Surface area indicates space newly designed or renovated.

    1.1 Residential spaces, 1,600 sq.ft. or less (150 m2 or less)

    1.2 Residential spaces, 1,600 to 3,200 sq.ft. (150 à 300 m2)

    1.3 Residential spaces, more than 3,200 sq.ft.(more than 300 m2)
    1.4 Kitchen

    1.5 Bathroom

    1.6 Model apartments or house and showrooms

  • 2- Commercial

    This category includes street-front or mall stores and services open to the public (hair salons/beauty salons, etc.) and professionals (showrooms) of the area or established inside the mall. It does not include shopping centers themselves. Surface area indicates area newly designed or renovated.

    2.1 Stands or kiosks

    2.2 Commercial spaces, 1,600 sq.ft. or less (150 m2 or less)

    2.3 Commercial spaces, 1,600 to 5,400 sq.ft. (150 to 500 m2)

    2.4 Commercial spaces, more than 5 400 sq.ft. (more than 500 m2)

    2.5 Showroom

  • 3- Public areas

    (Hall, entrance, circulation space, waiting areas for office, condo or commercial, etc.)
  • 4- Bar, Café & Restaurant

    4.1 Restaurants, 2000 square feet or less (609 square meters or less)

    4.2 Restaurants, more than 2000 square feet (more than 609 square meters)

    4.3 Bars, lounges, nightclubs

    4.4 Cafés, food counters

  • 5- Accommodation, wellness and recreational

    This category includes rooms, suites, private salons in hotels, inns, motels, bed-and-breakfast’s. That is also include spa, training centers and Exhibitions

    5.1 Accommodation (Hostels, Motels, bed & breakfast)

    5.2 Wellness, training and recreational center (Spa, gym, sport center, activities center)

    5.3 exhibition, event design and short-lived installation

  • 6- Office

    This category includes work or reception areas, meeting rooms, utility spaces, etc. Surface area indicates area newly designed or renovated.

    6.1 Offices, under 5,000 square feet (460 square meters)

    6.2 Offices, 5,000 to 20,000 square feet (460 to 1,860 square meters)

    6.3 Offices, over 20,000 square feet (1,860 square meters)

  • 7- Institutional, cultural, public and health facility

    7.1 Institutional establishment (Educational institution, school, daycare)

    7.2 Cultural establishment (Museum, theater, auditorium and library)

    7.3 Public establishment (Airport, courthouse, correctional facilities and places of worship)

    7.4 Health facilities and research center

    7.5 Professional offices and clinic (Doctors’ offices, dentists’ offices, private clinics, rehabilitation centers, emergency clinics, medical clinics)

  • 8- Sustainable development

    For a project demonstrating a serious commitment to the environment without necessarily having obtained a certification. However, this projects as to shows a serious commitment to the environment according to LEED CI.

  • 9- Universal access

    For a project designed to simplify access and facilitate the life of people with physical, visual, auditory, intellectual or other impairments.
  • 10- Non Categorized

    i.e.: Interior of a conveyance, or any other project that does not fit into any previous category.
  • 11- Terrace and landscaping design

    11.1 Terrace and residential landscape design

    11.2 Terrace and commercial landscape design

    11.3 Terrace and public space landscape design

  • 12- Special awards in interior design

    You can choose one of the special awards category 12.1 to 12.6 for an amount of $40, if you have already submit in at least one of these category 1.1 to 11.3 and 13.1.

    12.1 Lighting

    12.2 Colour

    12.3 Surface

    12.4 Signage / Branding

    12.5 Low budget

    12.6 Multidisciplinary

  • 13- Valorization of wood

    13.1 Valorization of wood in interior design

    13.2 Valorization of wood in industrial and product design

  • 14- Products design in small series

    14.1 Lighting

    14.2 Residential, commercial and built-in furniture

    14.3 Interior-use objects

    14.4 kitchen and bathroom product

    14.5 non-categorized in products design in small series

  • 15- Industrial design

    15.1 Lighting

    15.2 Residential furniture

    15.3 Office furniture

    15.4 Contract furniture

    15.5 Street furniture

    15.6 Interior-use objects and accessories

    15.7 Sustainable Development / Eco-Design

    15.8 Transport

    15.9 Architectural product

    15.10 kitchen product

    15.11 bathroom product

    15.12 non-categorized in industrial design

The following categories are exclusively reserved to the jury

The jury, gathering experts in interior design, architecture, industrial design or communications (advertising or graphic design), will choose the awards’ winners.

  • New talent Award*
    The jury rewards an emerging designer or architect with no more than five-year experience. All new talent designers who register a project in categories 1 to 14 are eligible without any registration fee. Winners will be selected by the jury among the participants.
  • Student Award
  • Project of the Year*
    Jury’s favourite project within all categories. No registration fee. Any participating designer is eligible by default. The winners will be selected by the jury among the participants.
  • Tribute Award
    The jury rewards a designer or an architect whose career contributed to the recognition and acknowledgement of Québec’s design.