Monument National de l’Holocauste, Ottawa

11e-edition-en11th-edition-enprix-speciaux-11th-edition-en
  • designClaude Cormier + Associés en collaboration avec Studio Daniel Libeskind – Architecture Edward Burtinsky – Artiste photographe Doris Bergen – Conseillère / Holocaust Studies University of Toronto, Lord Cultural Resources
  • categoriePrix Multidisciplinarité
  • site webclaudecormier.com
Share

The National Holocaust Monument was designed to be an exper- iment rather than an educational exhibition. The subtle balance between severe, oppressive architecture and the sky’s comforting presence, in a landscape that is both arid and airy, contributes to its finesse, allowing room for contemplation and reflection.

Hard, without being austere, the jury appreciated the exemplary contribution of a memory that includes experimenting with the body, spirit and emotion. Architectural poetry, the delivered mes- sage is powerful and its sculptured design is as provocative as it is artistic. More than a multidisciplinary creation, it is also a multidisciplinary experience, full of emotions.

  • designClaude Cormier + Associés en collaboration avec Studio Daniel Libeskind – Architecture Edward Burtinsky – Artiste photographe Doris Bergen – Conseillère / Holocaust Studies University of Toronto, Lord Cultural Resources
  • categoriePrix Multidisciplinarité
  • site webclaudecormier.com
Share

Monument National de l’Holocauste, Ottawa

11e-editionprix-speciaux-11e-edition
  • designClaude Cormier + Associés en collaboration avec Studio Daniel Libeskind – Architecture Edward Burtinsky – Artiste photographe Doris Bergen – Conseillère / Holocaust Studies University of Toronto, Lord Cultural Resources
  • categoriePrix Multidisciplinarité
  • site webclaudecormier.com
Share

Le Monument national de l’Holocauste est conçu pour être une expérimentation plutôt qu’une exposition didactique. L’équilibre subtil entre l’oppression d’une architecture sévère et la présence réconfortante du ciel, dans un paysage à la fois aride et aéré, contribue à la finesse du propos, laissant la place à la contemplation et à la réflexion.

Dur sans être austère, le jury a apprécié la contribution exemplaire d’une mémoire qui implique l’expérimentation par le corps, l’esprit et l’émotion. Poésie architecturale, le message livré est puissant, et sa conception sculpturale est aussi artistique que provocatrice. Plus qu’une œuvre multidisciplinaire c’est aussi une expérience multidisciplinaire chargée d’émotions.

  • designClaude Cormier + Associés en collaboration avec Studio Daniel Libeskind – Architecture Edward Burtinsky – Artiste photographe Doris Bergen – Conseillère / Holocaust Studies University of Toronto, Lord Cultural Resources
  • categoriePrix Multidisciplinarité
  • site webclaudecormier.com
Share